Gorillaz drop 'Stylo' with help from Bobby Womack and Mos Def

Hints and clues about a new Gorillaz album have been leaking out for over a year now, and today their reps made it official: The cartoon primates will return March 9 with Plastic Beach, whose luminary-stuffed track list you can pore over after the jump. Even better, Gorillaz have just liberated the first single from Plastic Beach. It’s called “Stylo,” you can hear it on YouTube for now before it goes on digital sale Jan. 26, and it boasts guest vocals from Mos Def and the great Bobby Womack. Yes, that Bobby Womack, the soul legend behind classics like 1973’s “Across 110th Street.”

“Stylo” would be pretty cool even without his contributions. At its core it’s a robotic disco groove, accented nicely by Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn’s spaced-out crooning and a few short-but-sweet rhymes from Mos. But man, when Womack’s inimitable roar sweeps in around the 2:00 mark, “Stylo” positively catches fire. The final product is closest in sound to “DARE,” Gorillaz’ 2005 tune featuring Happy Mondays’ Shaun Ryder, but I think I like this one even better.

Consider this a very promising indication of where Plastic Beach is heading. Give “Stylo” a spin on YouTube, then let us know what you think.

Plastic Beach track list:
1. Orchestral Intro (feat. Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E. Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature  (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

(Follow the Music Mix on Twitter: @EWMusicMix.)

More from EW.com’s Music Mix:
Gorillaz are among this year’s Coachella headliners
The Swell Season makes a triumphant return to NYC’s Radio City Music Hall
Animal Collective, Jay-Z win Pazz & Jop ‘09 critics’ poll
Vampire Weekend tops the albums chart
Stephen Gately: Is new Boyzone video a fitting tribute?

Comments (15 total) Add your comment
  • Kyle


  • Nathan

    Pretty awesome, glad those monkeys are still together.

  • crispy

    I am so excited for this release! Lou Reed and Snoop Dogg on the same record? Only the Gorillaz could pull that off.

  • Meier

    The original album is the best. “M1A1,” “Tomorrow Comes Today,”… “Clint Eastwood” & “19-2000,” of course… I hope Plastic Beach is a little truer to this one than to Demon Days.

    • S.O.

      Don’t forget “Man Clapper”, “Starshine”, “Slow Country” & my top favorite from Gorillaz “Latin Simone”. The follow-up Demon Days was good when it started off, but 2nd half of that album totally lost steam quickly (except Dare). Hopefully Plastic Beach will be consistent from beginning to end like their debut.

      • Meier

        I agree with the steam loss of Demon Days, and as brilliant as the guy can be sometimes, I blame Danger Mouse. I hear some of the same problems with Beck’s 2007 album Modern Guilt.
        Also, how could I leave out “5/4,” “Punk,” and “Re-Hash?” :-D

  • Nic.

    Sweet song! Retro vibe but still sounding fresh and new. Can’t wait to hear the rest of the album.

  • Eric

    This will easily get a ton of airplay and rightfully so. A very strong single from what should be a highly anticipated album.

  • Soul Stryka

    I hated that song “Dare” sounds like a retard doing the verse…however this song is great!

    • Jennifer is Stupid

      Your mother is a retard! Now don’t you feel stupid?

  • MultiPass

    I’m in. Hypnotic space disco. Likes it.

  • canuck1975

    Love the song even though it sounds a bit like Bruce Lee by Underworld.

  • darclyte


  • jojo

    yes !!gorillaz back!

  • Tracy

    I love it! SOO glad the Gorillaz are back, baby!!

Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos in Music


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP