'True Blood Vol. II' soundtrack gets new songs from Beck, Elvis Costello, more

true-blood-beckImage Credit: HBO; Autumn deWildeLet the bon temps in Bon Temps roulez again—the lineup for a second soundtrack to accompany HBO’s vampires-‘n-humans hit True Blood has been announced to coincide with the DVD release of the show’s second season on May 25.

Alongside exclusive new songs from Beck, the Band’s Robbie Robertson, and Lucinda Williams featuring Elvis Costello, look for classic tracks from Bob Dylan, 13th Floor Elevators, and Screamin’ Jay Hawkins.

Also new: two new Howlin’ Wolf covers—“Howlin’ For My Baby,” performed by singer-songwriter and Him to Zooey’s She, M. Ward, and “Evil (Is Going On),” via Jace Everett (he of the show’s “Bad Things” theme song) & Louisiana native CC Adcock (of Vol. 1‘s “Bleed to Feed”).

Find the full track listing after the jump:
1. “Howlin’ For My Baby” – M. Ward

2. “Evil (Is Going On)” – Jace Everett & CC Adcock

3. “Bad Blood” – Beck

4. “How To Become Clairvoyant” – Robbie Robertson

5. “Shake And Fingerpop” – Jr. Walker and The All Stars

6. “Frenzy” – Screamin’ Jay Hawkins

7. “Kiss Like Your Kiss” – Lucinda Williams w/Elvis Costello

8. “Gasoline And Matches” – Buddy & Julie Miller

9. “You Did (Bomp Shooby Dooby Bomp)” – Chuck Prophet

10. “You’re Gonna Miss Me” – The 13th Floor Elevators

11. “Fresh Blood” – Eels

12. “The Forgotten People (Bon Temps Remix)” – Thievery Corporation

13. “New World In My View” – King Britt & Sister Gertrude Morgan

14. “Beyond Here Lies Nothin’” – Bob Dylan

15. “Bad Things (Acoustic)” – Jace Everett **

16. “Ain’t No Invisible Man” – Jakob Dylan**

17. “You Can’t Drive Me Away” – Stone Temple Pilots

18. “Dig” – Headbone featuring Bubba Kendall

Better and bloodier than Vol. 1? Tell us what you think, below.

More from EW.com’s Music Mix:
Jay-Z on Saturday Night Live: Big highs and a low
Tim McGraw, Faith Hill organize “Nashville Rising” flood benefit show
Bassist Carlos Dengler leaves Interpol
Katy Perry’s “California Gurls”: The first mega-smash of the summer?
Muse announced as first artists on upcoming ‘Twilight: Eclipse’ soundtrack; more to come

Comments (5 total) Add your comment
  • Munz

    Very exciting! The first soundtrack was great (even if it omitted all the Greg Laswell songs) so it’ll be great to get back in the Bon Temps mood. Season 3 can’t get here soon enough.

  • couchgrouch

    ever the music curmudgeon, it looks very good but for one thing…Jace won’t be able to match Wolf., no one can. I just listened to that song last night it’s more bad ass than pretty much anything out today. Wolf’s voice shreds steel on that tune. if Jim Morrison couldn’t match it, Jace won’t, either.

  • couchgrouch

    ps Lowell George did a decent job on Little Feat’s debut album. rare feat, indeed.

  • Violeta Marroguin

    Large selection of luxury apartment rentals in Manhattan. Short term furnished apartments, apartment pictures and useful info for renters.

  • marketing of facebook

    You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I to find this topic to be actually something that I believe I might by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very extensive for me. I am having a look forward on your next put up, I will try to get the hang of it!

Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos in Music


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP