Michael Jackson: New single, tracklist revealed

MICHAEL-COVERA new official single from Michael Jackson‘s posthumous album Michael will be released this Monday, his label announced via press release. “Hold My Hand” is a duet with Akon that was recorded in 2007 and leaked in unfinished form the following year. According to the press release, “A handwritten note from Michael belonging to his Estate indicated his desire that ‘Hold My Hand’ be the first single on his next project.”

Epic Records also unveiled the complete track listing for Michael, including collaborations with 50 Cent and Lenny Kravitz. The album is due Dec. 14. Check out the track list after the jump and let us know what you think.

Michael track list:
1. “Hold My Hand” (duet with Akon)
2. “Hollywood Tonight”
3. “Keep Your Head Up”
4. “(I Like) The Way You Love Me”
5. “Monster” (featuring 50 Cent)
6. “Best Of Joy”
7. “Breaking News”
8. “(I Can’t Make It) Another Day” (featuring Lenny Kravitz)
9. “Behind The Mask”
10. “Much Too Soon”

(Follow the Music Mix on Twitter: @EWMusicMix.)

More from EW.com’s Music Mix:
Michael Jackson controversy: Estate attorney cites proof he sang “Breaking News”
Michael Jackson’s “Breaking News”: How do you like it?

Comments (41 total) Add your comment
Page: 1 2 3
  • Preston

    Thanks for listing the 10 songs on the new album. Looking forward to getting it. And even 50 Cent did a song with Michael as well as Akon and Lenny Kravitz! It looks like a very rhythmic dance heavy album judging from the titles and the song Breaking News.

    • successful

      oh amazing , i love this !it is the first and best club for Cougars and Young Men.
      . I am a laywer 38 years old, mature and beautiful , and single at present ..and now I am seeking a young man who can love me back …
      So i uploaded my sexy photos there under the n’ame of Myshine.. on S’ugarmommacupid.c’o’m
      Please Check it out!I’m serious.~~

    • Damion

      OMG, you guys are nuts. Despite the fact that 90% of the material he recorded post-“Bad” is horrible, “Breaking Bad” is truly an insult to his memory, being one of the worst songs he has ever recorded and is just his family continuing to exploit him. Any true fan of Jackson should be disgusted that his memory will be smeared by such crap like him sounding like he was recording Britney Spears’ Rhythm Nation 2002. The song is just god-awful and I cannot imagine anything else on this album being any better.

  • MC

    I can’t wait. The greatest entertainer that ever did it.

    We love & miss you MJ.

  • Phil

    Its too late for me to Google, but is that the song with Lenny Kravitz that leaked too that he got crap for!? And I am not shocked 50 Cent is on there, he went and hung out with MJ when he was living it up in Bahrain on the Prince’s dime.
    Now, that song with Akon could do very well at MJ’s core R&B stations and COULD actually be a hit, but after it leaked back in 2007, it was speculated that the song would prolly never be released, since you knew how MJ was when his songs leaked in any form. Switching up singles pretty much solidifies my theories from all week that MJ does not sing hardly any of that “Breaking News” track. So sad Sony thought they could pull a fast one like that.

    • Allison

      I heard on a fan forum that “Hold my Hand” was always intending to be the lead single. I’m not sure why Breaking news was the first stream with all the doubt and controversy. I have a feeling it may have been done on purpose for publicity to get the general public intersted. Who knows.

  • brenton Marshall

    firstly, MJ released a song called ‘the way you love me’ in 2004 on the ultimate collection album. hopefully sony realize this and the song on this album is a different one just with the same name.

    secondly, behind the mask was covered by greg phillinganes on his album ‘pulse’ in 1984. so its not technically unreleased. sony said we were getting 10 unreleased tracks.

    • michael

      yeah this one is called I like the way you love me so hopefully it is a new song.

  • Mehrnoush

    wait a minute…. WTF?!! There were gonna be 12 tracks, not 10. What happened?
    what about “carry on” … I KNOW they were including that in this album… I know they were as of 2 days ago…. WTF?! You have no idea how excited & thrilled & just… EXCITED I was for that soft but dance heavy, sensual, extremely sexy song to be featured & released…. WTF?!!!!!
    the main thing that I was excited about though was mj’s work with will.I.am. He’s the best producer alive today. I knew his work with the greatest entertainer who ever lived would be INSANE & I couldn’t wait for it to blow the roof off this planet. But no tracks w will.I.am? None? WTF? I was especially looking forward to 2 tracks, “the future” & “I’m still the king.” I respect will for his integrity & wanting to do right by mj, but as a consumer my bubble’s been (slighty) burst. The way you love me was released as a demo on a boxset a few yrs ago. WTFFFFFF?!

    • will i am not

      Will-i-am is garbage

  • Anna

    Well, I’m alittle suprised by the track listing but I guess they can’t please everyone. I’m glad “Hold my Hand” is going to be released I just hope it has more of Michael’s voice than Akons. I think it will the leaked track was not finished I guess, I can’t wait to hear the newest incarnation of it.

  • Nick

    Cant wait to hear these songs!

  • bklyngirl

    I know I will buy it.
    You will forever be missed Michael as The King of Pop,and will always be in your fans’ hearts.

  • Alfred

    The cover art is great.Will wait & hear a couple songs before I buy the CD but I’ll buy a poster of the cover art NOW!

  • Anth

    Ugh @ 50 cent and Akon. And yeah, “The Way You Love Me” better not be the same recording at least…it’s a great song that deserves more attention but on an album that only has ten tracks to begin with, including something previously released is pretty lame.

    • graeme

      I agree. I do love that track though.

  • Andy

    “I’m not sure why Breaking news was the first stream with all the doubt and controversy”

    Are you for real? This IS WHY it was the first stream. MJ always had to cause controversy to get attention. Think the Black & White video – smashing up cars etc – back in the day that caused ‘outrage’ – but as he said ‘it got people talking’…… Scream costing $$$ etc – there always has to be a story…

  • Steve

    Another Day is amazing, gonna be a hit. the leaked tracks were great, the finished ones are gonna be fantastic. Oh and Breaking news was never the lead single, just a teaser, maybe it was released to get the fans opinion on the fake claim or for P.R. Sony are masters at maketing via the net. Any song missing from this album will most likely be on the next, and the will i am stuff wasn’t anywhere close to completion, or so i’ve heard, So we may never hear that.

  • MJFan

    The best leaked ever do u know where your children are is left out stupid move frm sony

  • MJFan

    By the way Will I Am doesnt want to be on the album he says its a disrespect to Michael and I admire him for tht

  • DC

    Wow. MJ is turning over – this sounds like an unfinished MJ song touched up by the Jackson 5 ala’ Jermaine – c’mon man, MJ was a perfectionist – he would be blown away by these other Jackson boys and their tainting his work. GADS! New Jackson 5 material on the way!

Page: 1 2 3
Add your comment
The rules: Keep it clean, and stay on the subject - or we may delete your comment. If you see inappropriate language, e-mail us. An asterisk (*) indicates a required field.

When you click on the "Post Comment" button above to submit your comments, you are indicating your acceptance of and are agreeing to the Terms of Service. You can also read our Privacy Policy.

Latest Videos in Music


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by WordPress.com VIP